Chakras for Beginners: Easy Guide to the 7 Chakras

Chakras for beginners. Ever heard someone talk about having a “blocked chakra” and wondered what you were missing? Or read an article about cleansing chakras and wanted in on the fun?

Don’t worry! You’re in the right spot. Check this post out for the full scoop on all things chakra.

chakras for beginners

Chakras for Beginners

First things first, what are chakras?

Visualize a person sitting crisscross applesauce on the floor. Their tailbone is nice and grounded, and the crown of their head is soaring high. Maybe they’re about to meditate, or maybe they’re about to watch their favorite show — either way, they’re nice and still.

Now, picture seven, brightly colored pinwheels spaced out along their spine, located at:

  • The top of the head
  • Between the eyebrows (third eye)
  • The throat
  • The heart
  • Just below the ribcage
  • The navel
  • The base of the tailbone

Those gorgeous balls of energy are called chakras, and they’re responsible for all kinds of things in the body — physically, emotionally, and spiritually.

(Which is probably why you’ve heard so much about them!)

There are lots of things to know when it comes to chakras. You can balance them, sense when they’re blocked, cleanse them, and more.

But before we get into all that, let’s get the basics down.

Here are all the chakras, their colors (yep, all different!), what they’re responsible for, and a quick example of what that chakra feels like when open or closed.

The 7 Chakras

1. Root

We’re starting at the bottom because chakras build on each other. If you’ve ever studied psychology and learned about Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, this is kinda like that.

Basically, your crown chakra can’t be aligned without your root chakra, much like you wouldn’t spend all your money on trying out a new hobby without knowing where your next meal was coming from.

The root chakra is a deep, rich red and can also be referred to as the “Muladhara chakra” (its spiritual name).

Physically, it’s in charge of the lower part of the body, including the lower back, lower spine, kidneys, and bladder.

Emotionally, it controls our sense of safety, security, and therefore, confidence. Think of this chakra as the basis for everything else… its primary goal is to help you survive.

Someone with intense scarcity mentality may be experiencing a blocked or closed root chakra.

2. The Sacral (or Navel) Chakra

Your belly isn’t just where last night’s Taco Bell run sits… it’s also home to the second chakra!

The bright orange sacral chakra spins directly under the belly button and governs the lower abdomen, kidneys, bladder, circulatory system and your reproductive organs and glands.

Emotionally, its goal is simple: pleasure and desire.

Now that your basic needs are taken care of your navel chakra (also known through its spiritual name, Swadhisthana) wants you to have #AllTheThings. That adorable guy at the bar? Check. The art career you longed for? Sure thing. The new Apple Watch? You bet.

Someone with impulsive behaviors, sexual guilt, or overwhelming emotions may be experiencing a block in the sacral chakra.

3. The Solar Plexus

Just below your rib cage is the solar plexus, and that’s where our third chakra lives!

A sunny yellow, this chakra takes charge of our digestive system, muscles, pancreas, and adrenals. So yeah, it’s pretty important!

The Manipura (spiritual name) chakra cares about all things emotion. Not just emotions fueled by desire and pleasure like the sacral chakra, but ALL emotions.

When you feel powerful, laugh, experience joy (or even anger), you’re drawing from your solar plexus chakra.

Someone feeling emotionally frustrated, victimized, misunderstood, or directionless may be experiencing a block in this chakra.

4. The Heart

Deep green or pink (depending on who you ask), your heart chakra just wants you to be at peace.

It’s at the center of your love, compassion, joy! Unconditional love, passion, and even the start of self-actualization happen in the heart chakra.

Spinning right near your heart, the Anahata chakra physically takes charge of our upper back and chest (including heart and lungs), as well as the blood and blood circulation.

Someone struggling with saying “I love you” (when they clearly do) or on a constant self-hate loop may be experiencing a heart chakra block. Physical symptoms may include asthma or even heart or lung disease.

5. The Throat

Bright blue with the goal of allowing you to speak your truth is the throat chakra.

This chakra wants you on stage, telling the world what you know, and helping others find their way (public speaking fear be darned)! It’s obsessed with communication and has the sole intent to allow you to express yourself however you want to.

The throat chakra builds on the heart chakra’s self-acceptance and works on self-expression.

Physically, the Vishuddha chakra governs the throat, neck, and adrenals.

Someone feeling unable to speak their truth (like the cat has their tongue), struggling with any form of communication, or “stuck” when someone asks them what they want may be experiencing a throat chakra blockage.

6. The Third Eye

Remember that thing right between your eyebrows that I go on and on about? That’s your third eye, and on top of being the source for a lot of psychic abilities, it’s also home to an indigo chakra.

This Chakra is used to question the spiritual nature of our life (deep, right?) It’s probably what Shakespeare used when he wrote, “To be or not to be”.

Its main goal is to allow us to dream, have big visions, and think about how we want to live our lives.

A lot of our intuition is housed here, so someone feeling directionless, hopeless, or paralyzed by options may have a third eye chakra blockage.

7. The Crown

Last, but certainly not least, the brilliantly purple crown (or Sahasrara) chakra.

This chakra builds on everything the other chakras have done for us and is our direct connection to the universe. So, you guessed it, it’s concerned with all things self-actualization.

Understanding our true purpose in life and feeling totally aligned and guided by Spirit are common for someone with a wide open crown chakra.

If this chakra is blocked, someone may feel disconnected from source, or directionless, Physically they may experience headaches as the crown chakra governs the brain, hypothalamus, and pituitary glands.

Stirred your appetite for all things chakra? Check these posts out…

Read: Chakras and Auras: How they Work Together

Scroll to Top